For eleven years now, the Young Painter Prize (YPP), an annual art competition project for the Baltic region countries, has been gathering the attention of art professionals and painting devotees from all over the world. This year’s winner has been announced during the award ceremony that was held in Vilnius on 8 November, 2019. The prize worth 5000 EUR has been awarded to Sandra Strēle from Latvia. The artist received a real ‘success package’: a two month residency in SomoS Art House, Berlin, a cash prize, and an opportunity to hold a solo show in “Pamėnkalnio” Gallery, Vilnius. Yet the most significant part of ‘package’ is that... 

.. / Read

The project “Young Painter Prize” invites young artists from three Baltic States – Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia – to submit applications. The applications of participants must be submitted by 1 September, 2019. Conditions for participation in the project: 1. All artists that have a degree in art or are studying it, as well as senior art students can participate in the project XI Young Painter Prize; 2. Applications for participation should be submitted by the young artists from Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia; 3. The painting submitted for the competition should be created during the period.. 

.. / Read

The art residence in Lisbon, the exhibition in Vilnius and the monetary prize - this year was awarded the best young painter in the Baltic States. The international commission was most impressed by Monica Plentauskaitė. The Young Painter Prize in Vilnius was presented 10 times. On this occasion were opened four YPP exhibitions and two satelitte exhibitions in the capital of Lithuania. About 100 young painters from the Baltic States competed for the title of the best young artist. Monika Plentauskaitė was elected. According to the International Commission, in her work Monika managed to perfectly balance..

.. / Read

Page 1 of 17  > >>

YPP'13 Winners!

The project “Young Painter Prize”, which is taking place for the fifth time this year, has come a long way of changes. At first, the project was intended only for young Lithuanian artists, and now, starting with 2011, it already involves young painters from Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia. A professional jury is gathered every year. Application forms of all participants go through the hands of very important figures from the Lithuanian and foreign world of art. The jury consists of heads of various institutions, art critics, curators, and artists.

Every year the winner of the YPP is presented with monetary award from the YPP prize fund available due to efforts of private art patrons. We work with residency programs. Over five years, the YPP winners were given an opportunity to create and improve themselves in residencies: BMUKK (Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture of the Republic of Austria) awarded a three-month residency at Laudon including a scholarship for two years in a row; a two-month residency was given by Nida Art Colony of the Vilnius Academy of Arts; the YPP was awarded a two-month SIM residency in Reykjavík, Iceland. The winner of 2013 is going to win a two-month residency in Nordic Artists’ Centre Dale, Norway, with a monthly NOK 8.000 scholarship.

92 artists from the Baltic States participated in the “Young Painter Prize“ (YPP) competition this year. The YPP jury members: Arild H. Eriksen (director at Nordic Artists’ Centre Dale, Norway), Lolita Jablonskienė (director at National Art Gallery, Lithuania), Kęstutis Kuizinas (director at Contemporary Art Centre, Lithuania), Petri Hytonen (artist, Helsinki Art Academy, Finland), Sabine Vess (artist, Holland), Zane Onckule (program director at kim? Contemporary Art Centre, Latvia), Rūta Frankė (art program consultant at the European Investment Bank, Lithuania), Sirje Helme (General Director of the Art Museum of Estonia), Patricija Jurkšaitytė (painter, Lithuania).

The winner selection procedure of the YPP includes two stages: e-voting stage (i.e. online voting evaluating the whole application package of every participant (photos of the paintings submitted for the competition and their concepts) and selecting the finalists of the competition) and a live discussion of the jury which rounds up in choosing the winner of the main prize after having examined original works of the finalists.

The first evaluation stage being over, the finalists of the YPP’13 turned out to be the following artists: Adomas Danusevičius / LT, Atis Jakobsons / LV, Darius Jaruševičius / LT, Elo-Mai Mikelsaar / EE, Klavs Loris / LV, Kristi Kongi / EE, Kristina Ališauskaitė / LT, Kristina Kurilionok / LT, Kristine Kvitka / LV, Mihkel Maripuu / EE, Mykolė Ganusauskaitė / LT, Paavo Käämbre / EE, Rodion Petrov / LT, Rūtenė Merkliopaitė / LT, Zane Tuča / LV.

The winner of the YPP’13 was announced on 22 November after all the jury members discussion at the Contemporary Art Centre in Vilnius.

The main prize - 2.500 EUR and a two-month residency in Nordic Artists’ Centre Dale, Norway, with a monthly NOK 8.000 scholarship - winner is Zane Tuča from Latvia.


Two second prizes winners: Elo-Mai Mikelsaar from Estonia and Mykolė Ganusauskaitė from Lithuania.


Public prize winner: Kristina Ališauskaitė from Lithuania

The awards evening moments:


Exhibition is open from 22.11.2013 to 19.01.2014
Contemporary Art Center, Vokiečių str. 2, Vilnius, Lithuania



Photos: DELFI (K.Čachovskis),  Gražina Lomovskaja, The Rooster Gallery

More photos from the awards  - Young Painter Prize Facebook